I got threatened for proposing to make an LGBT short film as my graduation project

homophobia

Hello everyone! I’m a film student from Lebanon who goes to a catholic university.

As film students, we have to shoot a short movie (that passes around festivals) to graduate.

My instructor low-key threatened that I won’t graduate if I move on with my LGBT+ film. He said it’s against the university, lebanese laws, religion, and our culture. He also told me that the Lebanese General Security will halt its production. I don’t know enough about law, but I know there is a way around it and I will not give in to homophobia. The film will be created. It will be screened. It will win awards, and hopefully start a revolution. The film will be funded by the LGBT+ community from around the world.

If you have any suggestions, advice, opinions, or you just want to support me, please don’t hesitate to join the conversation <3

Edit: Know that everyone will be completely safe before, during, and after production because the film will not screen in Lebanon and nobody can get their hands on it for it won’t be posted online.

I have talked to people and they assured me it’s not the general security’s business so the instructor was bluffing. Moreover, the University isn’t capable of blocking my film.

I love your idea, your ambitiouns and the determinism you have. The LGBTQ+ movies are some of the few things that made me feel less of alien and finally loved.
Do you already have a story line or will it be more if a documentary?
Do you have some gofundme?
But just be sure to put your safety first and sure that you really want to do this as there is some realistic chance, they’ll make you fail. Else you could also make a movie that can be understood both heteronormative and LGBTQ+ like minded and only in the last sentence you reveal that your protagonist is part of the LGBTQ+ community.
Wish you all the best